Zines for Tatty Divine

On twitter a month or so ago I spotted a call for women zine makers to submit work for an exhibition in London. Being as I’m both a woman and have dabbled with zines before I decided that this might very well be worth me having a hand in and so have dug around to find copies of my old zines and created a new one with my illustration work specially to send down.

The first of the zines that I’m sending down is Survival Guide, which was created as a mock issue for part of my third year uni work. The idea was that students would work together to create each individual issue which would then be distributed in pop up shops around the country.

The second zine is an old one for me, something that I created in the middle of my second year to address the feeling of hatred. The hatred I chose to show was my hate of being a member of staff at KFC and all the horrible people that I’d had to serve (I’m so glad I don’t work there any more!) The zine was actually bound in KFC brown bags after I’d sampled a variety of different pieces of packaging to see which one worked best. The illustrations inside were really stress relieving to work on.

The third and final zine is a compilation of some of the illustration work that I’ve created over the past 2 years. There’s no real theme here like with the other two, I just wanted to get as much of my work down into this exhibition as I could. I got a colour copy done as well to keep myself and take to interviews as a quick sample of what I’m capable of doing.

 

 

 

 

If you’re interested in visiting the Tatty Devine Girls & Zines event starts on the 3rd of August. I’ll be trying to make it down if I can. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

