Setting Up For Show Elleven

I feel really bad for having neglected my blog for so long, but so much has been happening that I just haven’t found the time to do any blogging past the 140 characters of microblogging that Twitter offers.

University is now almost at an end now, third year did go just as fast as Barrie said it would and its almost terrifying to think that for now at least I’m pretty much done with education.

I won’t waste peoples time by posting loads of entries about all the work that I’ve done in the past year, as you can view my website for that curlyc.co.uk in case you’ve not yet visited, but I will be using this blog now as a way of keeping people up to date with general life, and work that I am doing right now.

Anyway, on with current life and we’ve spent the last month getting work ready for hand in and putting together our degree show. This has proved to be a challenging but hugely rewarding task which has kept a fair few of us in the studio all day painting, hanging work and even picking blutack off all the walls of a room (that was  a fairly tedious task!)

The theme of the show for this year has been sounds, as we may be quite a small year group but we sure as hell make a lot of noise (both physically and with the way we create our work). To fit with this theme we all had to choose a sound effect that we felt reflected ourselves in some way and create a design based around that sound. I chose kiri-kiri which is a Japanese sound effect used for the sound of pens scratching on paper, something that I felt reflected quite a lot on the way that I work while doing my illustrations.

Show Elleven is going to be a much more open plan and area focused show than has been created in Lincoln before. Gone are the days of everyone having their own board to do what they want to with and instead everyone had to submit their two favourite pieces of work to a committee to be vetted for the show. I managed to get both of the pieces of work that I submitted in, the first being my ISTD Flatland book and the second being some large format illustration.

The work featured within Show Elleven is hugely varied and these photos don’t do it justice (especially as we’d yet to hoover up at this point). I’d urge everyone who’s gonna be near Lincoln between the 6th and the 17th of June to pop in and have a browse, you won’t be disappointed. Check out the Show Elleven website for more details.


Here’s a sneak peak of the illustration that I have featured. Again, the images don’t do it justice and the large image of the geisha’s is the original and is a tactile piece. Having not worked that large since my college life drawing lessons it was a nice change.

Look forward to lots more updates now I get back into the swing of things. I’ll be off to Wisby Nature Park at some point this week to shoot an entry into a photography competition.

Leave a Reply

